UFC Hall of Fame
These are the pioneers, innovators and battles whose legacies laid the foundations
of the modern UFC. All championship reigns end - but legends live forever in the UFC Hall of Fame.
Modern Era Wing: BJ Penn
Teak tough, freakishly flexible and outrageously gifted, BJ Penn
is one of only two men to win UFC world titles in two separate
divisions. Perhaps the most naturally gifted fighter ever,
“The Prodigy” earned a reputation for taking on the greatest fighters
from any organization, in any weight division and at any time.
Modern Era Wing: Forrest Griffin
Forrest Griffin’s thrilling victory in the original Ultimate Fighter finale is widely credited with establishing MMA as a mainstream sport. He is also, unquestionably, an all-time great as evidenced by his victories over Tito Ortiz, Shogun Rua, Rich Franklin and the UFC light heavyweight title win over Rampage Jackson.
Pioneer Wing: Don Frye
One of the progenitors of the modern mixed martial artist, Don
Frye brought pro boxing, Div-I wrestling and black belt judo skills
to the UFC. “The Predator” is a two-time UFC tournament
champion who fought who’s who of his era while engaging in
some the most thrilling fights of all time.
Pioneer Wing: Pat Miletich
Pat Miletich was an innovator and trailblazer, inventing many of the techniques and training methods which are used by UFC athletes to this day. The Croatian Sensation had few peers in the Octagon, as proven by his UFC 16 tournament win and record-setting four defenses as the first UFC welterweight champion.
Pioneer Wing: Tito Ortiz
Bleached blonde trash-talker Tito Ortiz was the face – and attitude - of the UFC in the early 2000s. An outstanding wrestler with powerful hands, the Huntington Beach Bad Boy reigned as UFC light heavyweight champion for three-and-a-half years and left an indelible mark in the Octagon.
Pioneer Wing: Matt Hughes
Two UFC welterweight title reigns, seven successful title defenses and victories over the likes of BJ Penn, Georges St-Pierre, Royce Gracie, Matt Serra - and all the others – established Matt Hughes as one of the greatest fighters of any era.
Pioneer Wing: Chuck Liddell
Chuck Liddell is the epitome of what it means to be a UFC fighter. “The Iceman” reigned as UFC light heavyweight champion from 2005 to 2007, helping thrust the sport in the mainstream as the UFC’s flagship star during the boom period. In a 12-year career he defeated the likes of Jeff Monson, Kevin Randleman, Vitor Belfort, Randy Couture (twice), Tito Ortiz (twice) and Alistair Overeem. His last great performance came at UFC 79 in December 2007, where he outfought Wanderlei Silva in the fight of the year. The Iceman’s record for the most knockouts – 10 – in UFC history still stands today.
Pioneer Wing: Mark Coleman
The godfather of ground and pound, Mark Coleman invented a new avenue of attack for fighters who, like him, were world class wrestlers with natural born punching power. “The Hammer” did it all: winning two UFC tournaments, two UFC titles and – long after been written off – the PRIDE FC Openweight Grand Prix.